Skip to main content

Suncoast Music Scholarships

Suncoast Music Scholarships

The Suncoast Music Scholarship program began in 2016 as a partnership between music education supporters, Artist Series Concerts of Sarasota and the Sarasota Music Club. When the Sarasota Music Club closed in 2023, it made a generous donation to Artist Series Concerts so that the Suncoast Music Scholarship program could continue making financial awards to help the most gifted high school students in Sarasota and Manatee counties continue their music education.

The 2024 Suncoast Music Scholarship competition is open to 10th through 12th grade students in Sarasota or Manatee County. Young musicians awarded a Suncoast Music Scholarship must use the funds to pay for expenses related to continuing their music education.

Applications must be received by 5 p.m. on Friday, April 12, 2024. Auditions will be held on Saturday, April 20, at First Presbyterian Church in Sarasota.

2023 Suncoast Music Scholarship

Auditions for the 2023 Suncoast Music Scholarship awards were held on April 22. Winners performed a concert on May 13. A total of $12,000 was awarded to seven students.

Winners of the 2023 Suncoast Music Scholarship were:

10th grade
Matrick Thorpe - 1st place: $1,000; cello
Taltos Fuszfas - 2nd place: $500; flute

11th grade
Caleb Horner- 1st place: $1,000; piano
Cory Coyner - 2nd place:$500; voice

12th grade
Danae Tran - 1st place: $4,000; violin
Cole Laudenslager - 2nd place: $3,000; flute
Katie Evans - 3rd place:$2,000; French horn


Moriah Emrich
Caleb Horner
Kristian Mendoza
Hoang Pham
Vivian Phung
Haley Sprague
Margaret Toth
Christopher Wheaton


Colin Leonard
Nicholas Benson
Leela Sundaram
Moriah Emrich
Christopher Wheaton
Vivian Phung
Danae Tran


Competition Not Held


Andrea Guaita
Luca Stine
Joshua Hellberg
Nadia Brooks
Jack Gallahan
Ethan Horn
Marco Jimenez
Tyler Esposito


Katherine Hebert
James Boorman
Michael Miller
Dominique Cecchetti
Giordano Scarano
Lindsay McKenna
Abigail Toth


Graeme Sugden
Joshua Guaita
Ryan Schmidt
Daphne Waggener
Katherine Hebert
Michael Miller
Andrea Guaita
Daniel Solowey


Jesse Chang
Austin Canon
Skyler Miller
Brandon Eggert
Andre DeGrenier
Joshua Guaita
Emily Liu
Cypress Potter